top of page

Right Idea, Wrong Berry


I learned something new recently. I consider myself a lifelong learner, so I always love when I find out new information about a subject I thought I was pretty versed in. I also love when I can pass on that information to my friends and family and help them! Win win.


I am a firm believer in natural, preventative measures for my family's wellness. We do vitamin D and vitamin C and try to avoid excess sugars. We use our Thieves hand purifier when we are out, and wash our hands often.


A friend started making elderberry syrup and I bought a couple of jars. I was excited to add it to our daily wellness routine. I made a drink and forced all the men of the family to line up and take their medicine.


No one really appreciated my efforts.


We went through a pint jar and I opened a second before I learned that what we had been doing could have actually been working against my efforts.


Turns out that regular consumption of elderberry as a preventative measure isn't really necessary and actually may cause inflammation. WHAT?! That was not my goal. I just wanted to prevent sickness.


Elderberry causes significant increases in inflammatory Cytokines (TNF-Alpha, IL-6, IL-8, IL-1beta) which can play a role in many health issues and even increase pain in your body.


I have been battling inflammation for over a year. I have been on a strict anti inflammatory diet and have stayed true to it. I have eliminated SO many foods and such from my life. Here, I thought I was doing one more good thing for my body and for my family, but I was misguided in my attempt.


Elderberry DOES help WHEN you are feeling sick. It does fight cold and flu, but isn't the best option for a daily immune booster. We will keep it on hand for when it is needed, but I will no longer force it down the troops' throats daily.


Vitamin C & Vitamin D daily is your best option. Start supplementing as soon as the days start to shorten. Get outside on nice days and enjoy the fresh air and sunshine.


If you want a great immune boosting berry drink you can enjoy daily, I highly recommend NingXia Red. It is made primarily from the NingXia Wolf Berry, and is a super food and antioxidant. It is so yummy and incredibly good for you. This one doesn't cause inflammation, and as a bonus can help to regulate blood sugar.


I use NingXia in what is known as the Red Drink almost daily. Here is my recipe:

2oz. Ningxia Red

2 tsp. Sulferzyme Powder

6 grams ascorbic Acid (Vitamin C)

2 drops lemon vitality oil

2 drops lime vitality oil

ice & water to fill your cup (I use a big Yetti)


 


Sources:




82 views0 comments
Contact Us

Thanks for contacting us! We will get back to you shortly.

bottom of page