top of page

Blessed But Still Stressed


Genesis Wellness Podcast, Season 1 Episode 8


Along with most of the world, I’ve been stressing more than usual lately. My kids seem to have hit their optimal difficulty level. With a toddler in the terrible twos and a baby having a difficult time teething, I’ve always got at least one child climbing on me, hanging off of me or crying in my face. My kiddos are my biggest blessing, and I adore them, but they are also the biggest source of stress for me.

Mommy is dealing with early pregnancy fatigue, morning sickness and just being a mom in 2020. last week things hit the fan for me and I had just HAD it. Something had to give, or I knew I was going to lose it. I’m a pretty stable pregnant woman over all, but those hormones were kicking in and I could feel myself crumbling quickly.

What do you do when the buck stops with you? When you are the adult in the room? I had to at the very least, keep my kids alive and healthy, but all I wanted to do was crawl into my bed with a tub of rainbow chip icing {which i haven’t had in over two years} and cry before having a long nap.

“Effective stress management helps you break the hold stress has on your life, so you can be happier, healthier, and more productive. The ultimate goal is a balanced life, with time for work, relationships, relaxation, and fun—and the resilience to hold up under pressure and meet challenges head on.” - HelpGuide.org

Rather than giving up and allowing the inmates to run the place, I used the tools I had to help myself. I should have been using these preemptively, but I’m notably bad at paying attention to myself until things become an issue. Deferred maintenance is what my hubby calls it.

I got the three minions down for a nap and took a minute to just breathe. I prayed about what I was facing, and honestly, didn’t know what words to use. Do I pray for this to be taken from me? I’d prefer to keep my boys. Do I pray for 2020 to just end? I prayed for strength to face my life and for wisdom on how to handle what’s being thrown at me. That seemed the better option.

I then went to my oil cabinet. I knew exactly what it was I needed to use.

  1. I put Joy over my heart.

  2. I put StressAway on my wrists and the back of my neck

  3. I applied Valor to the crown of my head and behind and on my earlobes.

  4. I cupped my oil-covered hands over my mouth and nose and took several long, deep breaths.

I repeated these steps every 15-20 minutes until I felt a noticeable change in my body.


This trio has worked wonders for helping me to manage my stress and and my response to the stress in my life.

These oils won’t fix my broken dishwasher, make my kids fight or scream any less, or make 2020 less of a nightmare, but they help how I physically respond to the stress I’m facing.

In this episode, I talk about that day, and give some ideas for stress management. It might have turned into me getting some things off of my chest (which is one way to manage stress!) and admitting my failures as well.

Below I have complied some resources and products that I have found helpful or interesting. check them out!


 
 

Further Reading and Research:


I found this article from HelpGuide.org very informative. I agreed with much of not most of what I read here.

The Great Day protocol, developed by Gary Young. This oiling protocol helps you to focus and get centered so you have the better ability -the support you need- to deal with the stresses of the day.


Lindsey Elmore’s recent post on Gary Young’s Great Day protocol. She relates it back to being productive in your life, but it’s used many times for emotional support and for generally helping you to have a better day.

Dr. Steven Lin’s recent post on the role stress has on our immune system, and the importance of keeping stress and anxiety down. He also gives some great tips on how to help to manage stress.

Recommended Products:



15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Contact Us

Thanks for contacting us! We will get back to you shortly.

bottom of page