top of page

You Need an Armpit Detox: How and Why


I love Facebook groups most of the time. Sometimes, people can disseminate inaccurate information, but if you take the time to read through all the comments there are usually enough knowledgeable members to counteract that information. I usually read threads like this one and then use the information as a launching point for my own research.


Today a question came up on one of my Young Living Facebook groups about deodorant:

"Anyone have a preference on meadow mist vs. mountain mint deodorant for a female? OR does anyone make their own deodorant with oils? I personally have tried YL deodorant and they just haven't worked great for my body, but want to give a recommendation to another member. Thanks! "

I thought this was a great question. I have the mountain mint deodorant and I like it most days. I do agree with this member that sometimes it just does not seem quite right for my body. I was therefore very interested in the comments that followed.

"Detox is key. [you] can detox in the sense of eating cleansing foods, lemon in the water, not eating sugar, preservatives, etc. All things that are good for baby too [if you are pregnant]. I didn't do a "detox" as most think. For me it was about getting rid of chemicals in my home and food, and eating REAL foods. If your body is clean you won't need as much deoderant. I don't use YL deoderants. they just didn't work for me. I didn't care for the scents. I use coconut oil and lemongrass and melrose. You can add lavender too. I have never had an issue with it on my clothes. It absorbs well."
"If you haven't "detoxed" your body, it will take a couple of weeks to feel like you're past the stink. [You] will "detox" naturally. No need to worry about pregnancy. Just clean underarm and reapply during that time. We have to get our mindset away from never "smelling". We just have to be more diligent with natural deodorants, but the benefits outweigh the odor. It gets better over time. I just notice I cannot hang clothing back in the closet like I used to on Aluminum deodorant. And that's ok."
"if you have used conventional deodorant, you have to detox for a bit. It doesn't mean the natural won't work for you, just you have to go through that first."
"I have struggled to find a natural deodorant that worked... Then I did some research and realized that I need to detox. I made a mud mask with 100% pure bentonite clay, A splash of water and a splash of raw apple cider vinegar. Apply mud to under arms and leave on for 20 minutes or so. I Did this twice a week for two weeks and it worked wonders! Regular exfoliation and wiping underarms with witch hazel daily helps too!"
"I use Bergamot EO and brush on some baking soda with a mini blush brush. re-apply a drop of Bergamot throughout the day as needed."
"They didn't work for me until I did an underarm detox. I used the Indian bentonite clay with apple cider vinegar and purification EO. That made a huge difference and now during the winter I don't need deodorant at all. When I use it I love the mountain mint."

Detoxing seems to be the key to using natural deodorant. As one of the quotes above stated, this is not a detox as we think tend to think of, but a gentle detox of chemicals we use daily. 'Traditional' deodorants and especially anti-perspirants contain lots of chemicals and additives. The chemical list in some deodorants is almost appalling. Why would I want to put such unnatural substances on my skin?

Aluminum– some evidence links aluminum to cancer and Alzheimer’s Disease

Phthalates– Endocrine disruptors often also found in plastic that can cause hormone imbalance and even infertility.

Propylene glycol– common name: antifreeze. It is a hotly debated additive in personal care products but the Environmental Working Group reports that it carries a moderate risk of immunotoxicity and allergies.

Formaldehyde- a known carcinogen.

Parabens- Another hormone disruptor and parabens have been found in biopsied tissue with breast cancer

Antibacterial Substances- These are endocrine disruptors and can negatively effect the immune system


Why is this a big deal? People have been using these products for years. Have you ever gone to the Dr. and had them check your neck and armpits for lumps? Those lumps are lymph nodes and they are a major part of your immune system. Putting endocrine disrupting chemicals directly on top of these lymph nodes can confuse your hormones and suppress your immune function.

But why detox? One of the advantages to doing an armpit detox, besides that it helps speed up the natural deodorant adjustment period, is that it could help pull some of these chemicals out of the skin and tissue of the armpits.


How to Detox Your Arm Pits What you’ll need: 1 tablespoon bentonite clay 1 teaspoon apple cider vinegar 1-2 teaspoons of water

Instructions Mix all of the ingredients in a GLASS (never use metal) with a wooden or non-metal spoon until about the consistency of sour cream. Spread in an even layer over the armpits and allow to sit for 5-20 minutes. Start slowly and work up to a longer period of time once your body adjust. If it is uncomfortable, rinse immediately.

You may experience some redness as blood-flow to the area increases. It should go away quickly.

Wash off in the shower or with a warm, wet washcloth. Repeat daily or as needed until odor goes away and natural deodorant is non-irritating. As with any detox, make sure to drink plenty of water to avoid getting dehydrated.

So, if you decide to use the Young Living deodorant, or to make your own, it is always a good idea to detox when you make the switch from conventional products. So many of us have been using toxin-laden products daily for years. It's no wonder it can take a while to get those chemicals and toxins out of our systems. It won't happen over night, but you will love the feeling of you get from using clean products that are great for you.


*This was written a couple of years ago on another blog I had. The deodorant options from Young Living have changed since then, but the information is still relevant.*

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Contact Us

Thanks for contacting us! We will get back to you shortly.

bottom of page